First post from iPhone

July 22, 2008

Yep, I’ve got an iPhone. While I was in the US, I was offered for a fair price a used 1st gen model from somebody who bought the 3G. Since I did not obtain the phone as part of a contract or under any other restrictions, I happily installed a modified bootloader which activated the device and removed the SIM lock (all thanks to PwnageTool 2.0). So now I can enjoy this brilliant machine with my economical pre-paid plan (Simyo). German T-Mobile’s iPhone plans just don’t work for me (which is why I hadn’t bothered to buy one yet).

After playing around with it, here are some observations:

– how do I create bullet lists in this WordPress client?

– sometimes apps aren’t as snappy as you’d think they would be. For instance, it takes quite a long time for the Addressbook to finish loading.

– the UI is quite refined, as you’d expect from apple. Not only that, you can really tell that the engineers thought it all the way through: the little keyboard and its auto-correction, for instance, let me achieve good typing speed. Certainly nothing you’d imagine on a device as small as this. I also love how navigation works so intuitively, e.g how long alphabetical lists have a teeny A-Z index on the side. Tap your finger on a letter and the list jumps to that letter. You’d think the letters are too small for that to work reliably. But it just works.

– I haven’t gotten GPRS to work yet. So for now I have to rely on WiFi for Internet connectivity. Phone works well though.

– the battery life doesn’t seem to be all that great.

– I feel uncomfortable storing various passwords (which for instance the mail client requires) on a mobile device that’s easily lost.

– shazam rocks🙂

4 Responses to “First post from iPhone”


  1. Welcome to the iPhone world! Some comments on your experiences:

    “Sometimes apps aren’t as snappy as you’d think they would be. For instance, it takes quite a long time for the Addressbook to finish loading.”

    The iPhone 2.0 firmware is a bit more sluggish than the 1.1.x series were. I expect this to be fixed in upcoming 2.0.x releases. It was totally smooth and fast earlier. My theory is that they haven’t tested the 2.0 firmware quite as much on the first-gen phone (I have the same setup as you have).

    “I also love how navigation works so intuitively, e.g how long alphabetical lists have a teeny A-Z index on the side. Tap your finger on a letter and the list jumps to that letter. You’d think the letters are too small for that to work reliably. But it just works.”

    Works even better if you just slide your finger along the edge of the screen. Very fast.

    “I haven’t gotten GPRS to work yet. So for now I have to rely on WiFi for Internet connectivity. Phone works well though.”

    I had to insert an APN gateway name in the General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network. For T-mobile in the US, this was internet2.voicestream.com, but your German provider probably have their own gateway (and possibly username/password requirement).

    “The battery life doesn’t seem to be all that great.”

    Depends on what you’re used to. Compared to a barebones Nokia phone that does a week on a single charge, no. Compared to a Windows Mobile phone that requires charging every day, it’s much better. I easily get 2-3 days on a single charge — usage dependent, of course. Two tricks that help: adjust the screen brightness down to less than 50%, and turn off autodiscovery of wi-fi (usually when you need it, you can look it up manually anyway).

    “I feel uncomfortable storing various passwords (which for instance the mail client requires) on a mobile device that’s easily lost.”

    The mail passwords are optional storage wise, but they are encrypted. Also check out 1Password for the iPhone if you want passwords remembered in the browser. Personally, I can live with changing my mail password(s) if I lose the device. Also, enable the PIN lock and set it to one minute, and only intrepid hackers can get anything out of the phone.

  2. philikon Says:

    Thanks for your comments, Alex! Let’s hope that Apple does care about the 1st gen in future updates.

    Thanks for your suggestions regarding GPRS settings, though I had known about them already. And as far as I can tell, the APN is set to the right one. I also double-checked user name and password — to no avail. It just won’t connect.

    Regarding battery-life, yes, I may indeed be spoiled by my former barebones Nokia brick that survived a week on a single charge. Thanks for your power saving tips, I’ll try them out. I’ve only had the phone in operation for three days, the long run will determine how satisfied I am with it in this respect.

    You mention that the email passwords are “optional storage wise” but I’ve found no other way than entering them in the settings. Otherwise the Mail client wouldn’t connect to my servers because it wouldn’t ask me for the password. I have enabled the PIN lock already, by the way, but thanks for the tip. Is 1Password available for the 2.0 software yet?

  3. dcnoye Says:

    If you turn off the wifi the battery life will be much better. You should also post some pictures of your Nokia brick, it was really funny to see a tech guy with a phone from the 90’s .
    Your next mission is to start twittering, and get zope3 site running on your iPhone, now that would be an awesome blog post dude !

  4. philikon Says:

    Mysteriously enough GPRS works now perfectly. I’m writing this as I’m walking home🙂.


Leave a Reply

