On testing… QUnit, JSpec, MockHttpRequest, JSCoverage

May 16, 2010

This past week I’ve spent some time here and there improving my Weave Sync client for Google Chrome. It all started out as a proof of concept, so initially I only hacked together enough to get it to show some lights on the screen. I decided that if I were to take this any further, I should man up and write some tests for it, because refactoring code or adding features without knowing for sure your stuff still works freaks me out.

I guess nowadays you don’t have to defend the whole test malarkey anymore. I’ve never really minded writing tests as I my code grows anyways. I’ve done TDD on a couple of projects before so I’m used to writing tests before or, when not in TDD mode, shortly after writing the code. When fixing a bug, for instance, I tend to always write the test first. This week, though, I was paying the price of graduating a toy project into something a bit more serious. Writing nothing but tests for a while is not that much fun.

QUnit, JSpec

I decided to go with QUnit as the testing framework. I’ve never really liked JUnit-based frameworks anyway, and especially in JavaScript the particular flavour of object-orientendness provided by JsUnit felt out of place. QUnit is from the jQuery folks — it’s used to test jQuery itself. I can highly recommend it: it’s a neat little and nimble library, much like jQuery itself.

The only other contender for me was JSpec, a JavaScript interpretation of RSpec. Their idea is basically to make your tests look like real language. It’s a bit like the doctest concept that exists in the Python world. Doctests combine documentation and unit test code which is great when you want to write well-documented tests that can also serve as an API example document to developers. RSpec and clones go further by merging the natural language and unit test into one. I find this approach intriguing and I want to try it out some time, but for now I decided against it. That said, JSpec also provides a JavaScript API which reads quite nicely. So maybe that’s a good stepping stone…

A mock XMLHttpRequest implementation

The Weave client is obviously all about talking to a server, so I needed a way to mock this XMLHttpRequests. JsUnit has a mock implementation of it but it’s pretty much useless. JSpec has a better one, but it’s all tied into JSpec and it doesn’t support Progress Events handlers, something that Mozilla and WebKit based browsers do nowadays. Because frankly the readystatechange event is just silly.

So I decided to roll out my own mock XMLHttpRequest implementation, MockHttpRequest. It tries to follow the XMLHttpRequest and Progress Events specs where possible and practical. Of course it itself is 100% tested. Try it, fork it, improve it, critique it and let me know when you do!🙂

Code coverage

When you’re writing tests for your code, it’s always a good idea to track code coverage. That way you can make sure your tests hit every code path. This is especially, but not only, useful when you’re writing tests after the fact.

Sadly it seems there aren’t that many tools for that out there. There’s an abandoned Firefox extension that hooks into spidermonkey (Mozilla’s JavaScript interpreter) and an abandoned Firebug extension that hooks into Firebug’s profiling functionality. Hooking into an interpreter or profiler makes a lot of sense since you don’t have to change the code in question. Hopefully one of these projects will be revived one day or a similar one will come along. If somebody wants to pick this up, I could perhaps be bothered to help.🙂

For now your best shot for JavaScript code coverage seems to be JSCoverage. It takes your existing code tree, makes a copy while inserting code to keep track of code coverage (essentially a counter that’s increased on every line of code). It’s crude but effective, so for now I’m happy to get a feel for how complete my tests are.

One Response to “On testing… QUnit, JSpec, MockHttpRequest, JSCoverage”


  1. […] As I’ve written in my last blog post, the lack of a decent code coverage tool for JavaScript is bothering me a bit when writing unit tests in JS and this time was no different. Fortunately, the xpcshell test harness that we’re using runs with much different privileges than what your average webapp’s JavaScript runs with. That means we get access to things like the JavaScript debugger service. That, after all, has features like breakpoint and stepping, so surely one should be able to (ab)use it somehow to record code coverage, right? […]


Leave a Reply

